Sherbert Holmes

I was recently given a book that I can easily say, without any hyperbole, is the best book ever written. Tequila Mockingbird by Tim Federle is a book of cocktails and appetizers based on famous, canonical works of literature.

20140126-145052.jpg

I wish I had been this clever while writing my Master’s thesis on Paradise Lost , but I’m sure the idea of a cocktail called “Paradise Sauced” never crossed my mind. The titles are so clever (“The Last of the Mojitos,” anyone?) and really easy. And for those of us who can’t hold our liquor, there is entire section called “Refreshments for Recovering Readers.”

And speaking of certain people who can’t hold their liquor, there’s a recipe that caught my attention: “The Adventures of Sherbert Holmes.” In the second episode of Season 3, “The Sign of Three,” there’s a certain toast-worthy event happening, and this recipe sounds like a perfect beverage for optimal viewing pleasure. The drink is basically champagne, served with berry sherbert and blueberries for garnish. I played around with the recipe, and I found that raspberry sorbet actually works better in a chilled drink.

20140126-145252.jpg

I wish I could go back in time and be the English lit. grad student who came up with the idea for this book instead of the one researching 17th century religious texts. But since I’m not, at least I can cook up a batch of “Prawn Quixote” and write about it here!

As my favorite detective once said, “What one man can invent, another can discover.” – Sherlock Holmes, The Adventure of the Dancing Men

What about you, darling readers? What have you recently discovered that you wish you had invented?

4 thoughts on “Sherbert Holmes

    • Thanks for your comments! I wish I could grab some champagne too, but I think my school would frown upon that (my students would probably cheer it on, however!)
      Xo

Leave a Reply

