Hibernation Sickness

Do you remember the moment a disguised Princess Leia rescued Han Solo from the clutches of Jabba the Hutt? When the carbonite melts, he is blind. His blindness, a result of his hibernation sickness, is temporary, but he’s blind nonetheless.

This is the perfect metaphor for my blog writing during February, an inability to write as much as I would like, an infliction that I know will be temporary like Han’s blindness. My carbonite involved teaching To Kill a Mockingbird and a Shakespeare research paper, planning a Valentine’s dance for overly hormonal middle school students, and organizing an international trip for 35 eighth graders.

There have been many so nerdy moments that I wanted to write about, but the words never found their way out of my head. There were the potential posts about my LootCrate subscription (awesome, by the way), my ever-growing TeeFury collection, my epic Harry Potter Reddit gift exchange, my new obsession with Supernatural (late to the party, I caught up with the entire series over a few weeks-I can’t believe I missed out for so many years!), and many nerdy moments with my students in my classroom and in our Random Fandom after-school club (an afternoon of tea, scones, Sherlock, and Clue, anyone?). Here’s hoping now that my hibernation sickness is slowly wearing off, some of those ideas that pop into my head will also pop onto the page.

And just like Han, I have my own Leias who have helped rescue me from that carbonite. Every time I get a notification from my G+ group Female Geek Bloggers, I get so inspired by those incredibly talented women and their blog posts. You ladies rock.

My favorite scruffy-looking nerfherder eventually does get back his eyesight, but not before he’s almost thrown into the mouth of the Sarlaac (I’m now realizing this post’s excessive nerdiness more than makes up for a lack of posts!). I’m determined to face my own Sarlaac (a five day hiking trip with seventh graders at Big Bend National Park) and make sure that the writing still happens.

20140303-215602.jpg

4 thoughts on “Hibernation Sickness

  1. It can be very frustrating when we want to sit down and write, craft, read, or play, but other important life things continue to happen. I hope you’ll find the time soon!

  2. I love this comparison, and totally get that! I think the worst for me is having a few different ideas to play around with (be it for blogging, writing, drawing, whatever) but I am literally forced to a standstill if I can’t get the current one I’m working on done. So glad you’re coming out of hibernation, your blog rocks and as such I’ve nominated it for a Liebster Award 🙂 (http://theadventureisafoot.wordpress.com/2014/03/18/liebster-award/)

    • Thank you so much, Brooke! I’m beyond flattered and honored! You just made the beginning of my day 1000% better (I read your comment while ignoring the alarm).

Leave a Reply

