SDCC 2014: Plenty o’ Panels

It has been nearly a week since San Diego Comic Con wrapped up, and honestly, I can’t seem to shake off the sheer exhaustion that amazing week caused, so there have many binge-watching marathons on Netflix and binge-reading of Game of Thrones to help me recuperate.
But all this downtime has also given me some time to reflect on the awesome panels I saw this year.

This was my third visit to SDCC, and the panels are always an interesting cause of excitement/stress. Of course you want to hear the talent behind your favorite television shows, movies, comics, or books, but how much time (and comfort) do you give up to wait in line for the panels? How hardcore are you in facing down the eternal line of Hall H? How well can you sleep on the cold cement while waiting?

For me, panels are something that I look forward to, but I also look forward to sleeping in a bed and showering, so I know that Hall H and I will never become close friends. I have woken up around 3 am in the past to see certain panels (Psych, Sherlock), but that’s kind of the extent of my panel badassness.

But this year, something strange happened at SDCC. Yes, there were still lines for miles for Hall H, but I managed to just walk in to several large panels. I even heard from other friends that they were able to walk in to Hall H on Thursday and Sunday (which seems crazy). Con luck was on my side, and I was able to see not only great panels, but the panels I actually wanted to see! Even though I didn’t get to see a few that I wanted (ugh, The Walking Dead and Game of Thrones, why do you have to be so popular??), I saw so many awesome ones. Here are some of the best ones that I saw:

1.Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog
This is the first year I’ve been able to participate in this panel. It’s one of my favorite Joss Whedon projects (that’s saying a lot), and when you can sing along with Nathan Fillion on the big screen, well that’s a glorious thing.

20140801-194626-71186788.jpg

2. Penny Dreadful
I loved hearing the creator John Logan’s insights into his characters and how they differed from the original source material. He also mentioned Wordsworth. It was like being in one of my favorite English literature classes in college, only hosted by Aisha Tyler.

20140801-212348-77028180.jpg

3. Marvel Television
This one was high on my list of “musts,” and I was shocked to get in so easily. The panel showed sneak peaks to the new Marvel series Agent Carter which looks incredible. Set in the 1940’s, it is the story of the beginning of SHIELD. The panel then switched to the cast and talent behind Agents of SHIELD. My mad crush on Clark Gregg (if we’re being honest here, the whole dang cast) raged on after seeing them talk about their show. (Seriously, how much do we all love Gregg/Coulson?)

20140801-214211-78131270.jpg

4. Brave New Warriors
This panel featured the leads from The Giver, Sons of Anarchy, Bates’ Motel, and Fury, but the real standout here was Tom Mison from Sleepy Hollow. He has all of Ballroom 20 laughing hysterically with his one-liners, funny anecdotes, and his facial expressions. Oh, and that British accent? YUP.

20140801-220630-79590022.jpg

And, finally, the best panel I have ever seen at SDCC…

5. Sesame Street’s 45th Anniversary
Chris Hardwick. Grover. Murray the Monster. Cookie Monster. ALL IN THE SAME ROOM. I was smiling throughout the entire hour, when I wasn’t crying from laughter at the spoofs “Numeric Con” and “Star S’mores.” Best moment? When Chris Hardwick took a selfie with Grover in the middle of the panel. I lost my phone that morning and couldn’t take pictures, but awesome Twitter user @HiddlesEducates graciously allowed me to use her photo. (Someone also miraculously returned my phone. Con goers are the best!)

20140801-221712-80232226.jpg

How about you readers? Did any of you go to SDCC or Nerd HQ? Which panels did you see? I’d love to hear from you!

6 thoughts on “SDCC 2014: Plenty o’ Panels

  1. B says:

    I only made it into Hall H Saturday panels and one Nerd HQ panel (Supernatural)! I was amazed though to hear/see how people could walk into Hall H on Thursday. I mean, WHAT?!

    • Absolutely crazy, right? Every panel it went to I just walked right in, except for Marvel TV, where I had to wait through the panel before. A friend of mine even walked right in to Hall H on Sunday for Supernatural. Very strange.
      Congrats at scoring that Nerd HQ panel- I swear Supernatural sold out in 15 seconds. (I’m not bitter)
      Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

