Nerdy New Year’s Resolutions

Sure, the old standbys are still true: be more organized, run more, conquer Tree pose without tipping over, actually get to a damned yoga class…
But I have a few nerdy resolutions that are just as important. Let’s do this.

1. Score SDCC Badges:
Back in November, my nerdy luck finally ran out and I didn’t score badges for me or the best friend. As the spinning blue circle continued to taunt me, it was clear that not only was 4 Days + Preview night out of the question, I wouldn’t even get a Sunday badge.
Unthinkable. Unacceptable. Unpossible. Impossible.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b19/55738311/files/2014/12/img_4027.png
So, at the top of this list is to get those badges, continue my yearly pilgrimage to San Diego, and blissfully stand in line for hours for a panel. I don’t know what it’s going to take, but this is my Hunger Games. And I’m freaking Katniss, albeit without the awesome archery skills.

2. Blog More:
First of all, can this entry count? Between work and life and the thousands of papers that need to be graded, sometimes all I want to do is marathon a few episodes of Parks and Rec and just escape. I suppose I could always write about my Netflix dependency. BOOM. There’s a possible entry right there.
But seriously, blog more, think about blogging more less.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b19/55738311/files/2014/12/img_3969.jpg

3. Continue Nerdy Adventures:
Last year was filled with incredibly nerdy travel experiences that I could check off my bucket list: visiting Harry Potter Studios, Platform 9 3/4, and 221 B. Baker Street in London, seeing where J.K. Rowling wrote in Edinburgh, flying the TARDIS with the Eleventh Doctor in Cardiff, sitting in the Iron Throne at San Diego Comic Con. I was so lucky.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b19/55738311/files/2014/12/img_4029.jpg
A month ago, I impulsively bought tickets to Star Wars Celebration in Anaheim. I’m going Solo (see what I did there?), but I hope this will lead to more cons and nerdy travel experiences, if nothing else than to help with #2.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/b19/55738311/files/2014/12/img_4028.png

I’m sure I could list more, but I do have that Tree pose to do, so it’s best not to spread myself too thin. How about you guys? Do you have any nerdy resolutions? I’d love to hear them!

Happy New Year’s, friends. 2014 was a fabulous year, but 2015 is going to bring us Jurassic Park, Star Wars, and the Avengers. And that’s just movies! I have a feeling 2015 is going to be an awesome year.

2 thoughts on “Nerdy New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Blog more but think about blogging less is definitely a big one for me this year. I would hate to think how many hours I have wasted staring at my blog without actually writing anything at all. Such a waste!

    I look forward to reading about your nerdy adventures in 2015. Happy new year!

Leave a Reply

